It’s easy to overlook what’s right underfoot, until all the beautiful tiny wildflowers start to carpet a spring yard. Here’s what I’ve been  noticing.

image

I just love these. They look a bit like miniature pansies.

image

This bright, pretty yellow one is great inspiration, since it appears to have managed to push its way up to the light right through the asphalt of the driveway and thrive.

image

Here we have my favorite, of course. I don’t see this kind every year, but its almost neon purple always makes me smile when it does pop up.

image

At first glance this little beauty is pure white. A really closer look reveals delicate purple striping.

The grass has already been mowed once this year. Before that there was a microscopic jungle of these lovely “weeds”, and more. These are the determined ones that won’t let a minor annoyance like a lawn mower keep them at bay for long.

