image

St. Augustine is another place I wanted to see because of books. Eugenia Price wrote historical novels that brought times and places to vivid life. Reading one of her novels was like giving her permission to invade your mind and show you a movie there. I’ve been to locations from several of her novel series and thrilled to every sighting of something familiar.

image

In St. Augustine it was this house that I desperately wanted to see. It was featured in the novel Maria and looks just as I’d imagined as I read. The real life woman who inspired this novel lived in what is known as “The Oldest House”. I stood in her bedroom, and stared at the huge bed decorated with carvings of banana leaves until I had it memorized. What an amazing experience for a lover of books.

image

The old fort known as the Castillo de San Marcos also figured in Price’s writing. Its beautiful seaside setting is enough to draw visitors, but that beauty is greatly enhanced by a reader’s thoughts while touring it.

image

Palm trees, the ocean, history around every corner, and the opportunity to walk where favorite characters who were also real people walked make St. Augustine a place of wonder on many levels.It shines like a Spanish treasure on the shore of so many peoples’ dreams.

