Cornwall was a place I particularly wanted to see in the UK. In part because I’d long heard how beautiful it is. My thing for seeing places books I love had been set was my main reason, however. I went with a mission. I loved The Shell Seekers, by Rosamund Pilcher, and desperately wanted to see the place that had instilled a perfect image in my head.

image

I’m not sure I got solid information, but two sources (a bed and breakfast lady and the owner of a gardening shop who sold me a beautiful small artist’s print of a very Shell Seekery scene from among the trowels and Wellies) sent me to the above beach. I was told it was called Porthkerris and that it had been  Ms. Pilcher’s inspiration. It was beautiful and awesome and I felt I’d come as close to a Rosamund Pilcher pilgrimage as I was likely to accomplish. I left that beach happy.

Another author’s work lured me to Cornwall as well. I had recently discovered E. V. Thompson and his historical tals of the Cornish Coast were so captivating that I wanted so very much to at least get a flavor of the area.

image

I’m terrible about remembering exactly where my travel photos were taken. I think this coastal gem is Penzance, of Gilbert andSullivan fame, but I can’t swear to it. All I’m certain of is that this harbor scene was gorgeous and some of the boats and one larger sailing vessel in particular gave me the feel I was looking for.

image

This image, framed to look as if the click of my shutter had traversed centuries to transport me briefly to a time of fierce love, fierce people…and pirates, was as close as I got to satisfying my E. V. Thompson inspired dreams of dreamy coastal villages, where adventure and romance lay just beyond my viewfinder.

Cornwall seemed a place just slightly set apart from reality. Perhaps it is. Tintagel, said to be the birthplace of King Arthur, lies there after all. What could be more tantalizing than the chance to stand in a land and imagine it as Camelot?

