Often traveling involves making the best of whatever weather the sky decides to provide during the one day or few hours available to you, in the places you most want to see and  photograph. Europe for me was hit or miss. Sometimes the sky was glorious. Other times it was gray or positively glowered. I was just glad when it didn’t pour rain, snow…or flocks of grackles.

The few hours my tour group had at Versailles were gray, with threat of glower.
image
Some pictures are framed in such a way that the crowds of tourists don’t distract the eye. Such as these shots of a couple of the beautiful fountains…that were turned off when I was there in the winter. Of course.
image
I must say I found them beautiful anyway. They look entirely different with the water rippling,  splashing, and spraying I’m sure, but I like the stark still way they stand against the backdrop of the immense grounds.
image
This array of elaborate chandeliers gives but a hint of the grandeur inside.
image
As does this gorgeous gold architectural detail.
image
Here I cropped out the tourist masses so that this scene looks as it would have when it first graced the palace site.
image
Such a contrast to the uncropped version that brings centuries old history and the modern into sharp contrast. I like the way the middle distance, then far as the eye can see carries the viewer out into the countryside, with a tantalizing feeling of being mere steps away from the past in its unaltered present.
image
Finally, I love the way this cloudy sky glooms over an inner courtyard and the different shapes and sizes of the different sections look like a village as much as part of such a grand palace. The barely focused modern tourists, in their dark clothes and huddled attitudes, can so easily be imagined as centuries old citizens of a revolution torn France, walking along the same cobblestones today’s tourists tread. It’s eerie and awe inspiring. And one of the most beautiful palaces, or places, I’ve been privileged to see.

