I have a lot of Hawaii pictures, mostly of Oahu, quite a few of The Big Island, some of Maui, and a few of Molokai. While looking through some today, I picked out some of my favorites I took on Oahu for a long overdue Random Images post.

This one was taken on The North Shore.

image

I love the contrast of sea and sky, darkness and light. The molten look of light on water is like a minor homage to the volcanic nature of the islands.

image

The Blow Hole is one of the, sights tourists flock to. It’s exciting to wait for the next time it shoots its plume of water toward the sky, and everyone goes home with the perfect souvenir of their time on the island. Occasionally, people take chances in their quest to experience the Blow Hole. They get too curious, get too close, fall in, and get sucked into the lava tube that gives the hole its name. Very dangerous, for a place of such beauty. On the other hand, patient camera wielders may capture a rainbow in the mists of the plume. Oddly, I saw them, but they were too gloriously fleeting for me to bring one home with me.

image

This iconic landmark need no introduction. Diamond Head is perhaps the first image that comes to mind at mention of Hawaii. Well, maybe after hula girls. Whether seen up close, so that it towers over Waikiki or from a distance, framed by waving palms and the blue Pacific, there is no sight more quintessentially Hawaiian than this huge volcano crater. I’ve seen it from the outside, the inside, and from out at sea. There is no bad view of this impressive natural wonder.

image

I can’t recall exactly where along Oahu’s many iles of varied beaches this one was taken. I’m almost positive it was on the Leeward Side, but that’s as close as I can get. All I’m sure of is that it’s one of my favorite shoreline shots I took there. It really illustrates the power of nature, as well as the incredible beauty waiting around every turn, of every Hawaiian island.

Now, here’s the weirdpart. I’m experimenting with taking pictures of prints with my phone, instead of scanning with my computer and printer. The above image of waves hitting rocks was enhanced by the phone’s camera and the contrast improved. Honestly, I was just playing with settings and this happened.

Here’s the original, taken when I wasn’t messing with settings.

image

This darker, moodier shot of Hawaiian twilight has always been one of my favorites I took there. Sure, the lighter version makes the scene look more photogenic and shows more detail. It also washes out the haunting beauty of the actual moment I stood there, watching the Pacific do to the islands what it’s done for eons. Along with the deeper, truer shades of a Hawaiian twilight, the enhancement removed the generation of the memory that comes when I look at the original. Both make me want to go back there. Only one makes me feel, for an instant, as if I have.

