My screenwriting competition results season was short lived this year. I took a huge chance by entering my three dramas in the Nicholl alone, and didn’t get the results I hoped for. All three received one positive read.

Fin.

It’s hard to take, of course. Especially after they’ve all done well in other competitions. Even the one that has been a Moondance Finalist twice and Semi-Finalist once, plus top 25% of the Page Awards (and made the top 10% of the Nicholl itself before I really even knew what I was doing) only garnered the one positive read in this year’s Nicholl. I’m thrown, but not so hard that I won’t bounce back once I get over the disappointment.

I console myself with the knowledge that I tightened and polished the two that got nowhere in their first Nicholl attempts so that they both got a positive read in such a prestigious competition. I also know that subjectivity rules all things creative, when it comes to opinions and reactions. That doesn’t really make things any less difficult right now, but it does seriously mean that another year could bring entirely different results. I also figure my three still rose above other entries that number in the thousands. In no way is that failure, though the egotistic ego brain niche has trouble holding onto that thought for very long at a time.

I don’t know yet what my next move will be, but it might be a good idea to spread things around more. Then again….

And so it goes.

