This time the images are not just random. They’re totally unexpected. My car window framed them, as if the photographs had already been taken. I got out my phone, but by the time I was ready the rainbow faded to a pale reflection of its previous self.

When I headed home from a brief errand, it was back and twice as big and bright as before.
image

Literally. Its encore was double.
image

Oddly, I didn’t notice the extra rainbow until I looked at the images once they were all taken.
image

Rainbows are always special. Treats for the eyes, the soul, and the imagination. When they’re double, it’s like nature decided to award the storm weary with a bonus.
image

I like to crop out anything manmade that I can, when taking and displaying pictures of the natural world, but some things are so majestic that a hint of roof and wires don’t really detract from the focal point.
image

Yes, this one stretches in such a wide arc that I could switch position and catch it from a different angle entirely.
image

As I walked away, another bonus came. What appears to be a sundog within the rainbow winked brightly into view. Together they graced the clearing sky and made me glad it rained today.

