Double take time in the mundane aisles of Walmart. I’m always attracted to the exotic, the beautiful, the purple. All of those attributes aren’t usually found mere feet from generic chips and flips…flops. Yet, there it was.
image

This stunning beauty even stood out from the other orchid plants crammed into a sizeable display. In fact, the ones I usually oooh and ahhh over seemed kind of plain by comparison.
image

At first glance I thought the larger than usual flowers were “merely” an arresting cobalt. Then I noticed the iridescent purple sheen that almost shone from odd angles of petals.
image

When light hit certain parts particular ways, suddenly the thing had done a chameleon act and looked like a living purple gemstone. I’d never seen anything like it.
image

Even the rear view is breathtaking.

Unfortunately, so is the price. Double its paler siblings. It would be worth it, if not for the pesky kill factor. I’m not tempted beyond resistance to spend $25 on even something so gorgeous, when it’s also delicate and difficult to coax into lasting much longer than a box of gourmet chocolates. So I walked away, but not before standing there taking pictures past the point when people started to look at me funny.
I have a sinking feeling going back to get it will be as hard to resist as an open box of the aforementioned gourmet chocolates.

