Oddly, falling in love with Gregory Maguire’s novel Wicked and its tragically green wicked witch with a heart Elphaba led me to falling in love with Idina Menzel’s incredible voice. There’s nothing I love discovering more than a Broadway power belter with range and the know how to use it well.

Idina Menzel has one of the best voices I’ve ever heard. It was Defying Gravity that first got my attention, but as I continue to turn up gem after gem I’ve discovered that this is a singer with the ability to bring tears to the listener’s eyes, as well as bring down the house. Her still powerful yet also subtle rendition of the old standard Embraceable You is as moving as it is beautiful.

Now that the announcement that she’ll be singing at the Oscars has begun to gain her the wider recognition that she deserves, Idina Menzel is popping up all over pop culture, as well as in major news stories. This Entertainment Weekly Popwatch Retrospective covers much of her career, including links to some  performances I’m not familiar with and look forward to checking out.

