I finished watching Oblivion earlier tonight and can’t stop thinking about it. It reminds me of Prometheus, in that the FX are so real it feels as if you’re really there. Or could be.

That kind of movie is a different viewing experience than genre movies were even several years ago. It’s immersive in a whole experience kind of way different from technological tricks beyond the amazing FX. Things like how many dimensions and what kind of screen fall to the wayside in the face of great visuals and excellent storytelling.

I found the plot riveting. It kept me almost mesmerized, engaged, and most important of all as far as storytelling goes…interested. I can often stay a step or two ahead of movie plots, which can be frustrating and even irritating. No danger of that as Tom Cruise led me on an adventure that kept me following him.

It’s an excellent cast, though I’m unfamiliar with the female leads. I always like Morgan Freeman and Nokolaj Coster-Waldau, and that continued here.

This kind of story always makes me think too much. Oblivion’s version of alien invasion is just different enough to become a new thing that goes bump in the night…until the next one comes
along. The stuff of nightmares, but with a leading edge of hope.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but it’s seeming that genre movies are in the process of taking a creative leap to their next level. If that means more and more
will arrive in theaters at the level of Oblivion, I can’t wait to see where the next leap takes audiences.

