It’s December and cold enough to prove it, but it is a bit early for ice storms. No one seems to have told the weather that little fact, so we have ice out of its usual season.
image

When I went out today, I was pleased to see how much ice had melted. Then I saw this lone bush decked out by Old Man Winter’s own ice shooting fingertips. My first thought was that someone had flocked the thing, as some weird attempt at a practical joke. Then I realized its perfect position under a gutter made it vulnerable to a double dose of icing.
image

Make that quadruple.
image

It’s cool, no pun, the way bits of leaves get caught in the tangle of ice. Fall and winter, side by side.
image

Early ice even captures bright green signs of lingering summer in its frigid grip.

Too much freezing rain can lead to dangerous driving conditions and the potential for weekslong power outages. Whatever problems it may cause, there’s no denying the enchanting beauty of nature’s handiwork.

