I watched Looper. And watched it. And watched it some more. I liked the premise, the FX, the cast (always like Bruce Willis movies), and the ending was awesome. But I couldn’t love the movie because the pacing was entirely too slow for my taste.

I tack on the for my taste part, because I know other people liked Looper. Loved it even. I never understand how movies can hit some people just right, yet be problematic for others. And I can’t quite figure out how it is that pacing is so important to me.

How a story moves can make all the difference in whether I’m going to be thrilled or less than. Since other people have opposite reactions to the same movies, I’ve come to accept that pacing is my movie pet peeve. It doesn’t necessarily reflect badly on any particular movie. It’s just a personal quirk that can make or break a movie’s place on my love-it-or-leave-it-o-meter.

It’s certainly unpredictable for a quirk. I can watch a dreamy period piece like Mrs. Dalloway or The Remains of the Day with rapt attention, yet sometimes sceince fictiony action adventure will try my patience.

Now that several days have passed since I watched Looper, and the in the moment watching experience is a fading memory, I can look back and say I enjoyed it as a whole. There was some seriously profound thought going on there.

I hate being slightly out of the loop with a movie like Looper. Still, when I really think about it, it doesn’t actually happen as often as it sometimes seems. Those some times when clocks seem to tick a minute away by the hour and thinking about the pacing pulls me out of the story. When it does happen the annoyance factor distracts me and I feel I’m missing something. Like the ticking away of time in a time travel movie, instead of the clock I keep looking at.

Looper Official Trailer

