I was looking through some old photographs, and was reminded of how much I used to enjoy shooting with black and white. Old school. It took me longer than most to make the switch to digital. I loved the weight of my Pentax K-1000 in my hands, the giant macro zoom sticking way out and wanting to dip down from its own weight. Depending on the light meter to give me what I wanted. Bracketing shots. Now, I just use my smartphone. Point, squinting around and through glare. Hoping what I can’t really see that well on the screen comes through as the still image I want. Sigh.

I thought I’d post a few of the old ones.

image

Sometimes glare is good. When it’s the lowering sun’s version of a moonglade on a rippling lake.

image

I love the way waterfalls  photograph in black and white. The water takes on a lacier look than in color. Maybe it’s the contrast.

image

From a natural canyonlike structure surrounding a waterfall, to concrete canyons surrounded by water. Manhattan and its emerald centerpiece, Central Park, in shades of black and white and gray.

image

Our lost icons. Shades of past and present, in memory and remembrance.

image

Something I’ve enjoyed since I went digital is to take a picture and crop it into different microscenes. This I don’t think works as well with black and white. Not old images at least. And scanning lessens it still. It is interesting even so the way the crops look so different once they’re separated out of the original.

Old school black and white photography will fade out of existence entirely. It’s probably ninety percent there already. Pity. It’s just not the same to decolorize super sharp digital pics with filters and call it black and white. Seems to me that while they still may be cool and beautiful they lack the minute flaws that give the old style stuff such character. Flaws can be good. Through the right lens.

