This article is the kind of thing that makes my brain go all blinky and pingy, like a pinball game that just hit five free plays. I think my favorite the-future-is-now wonder is the small clothes cleaner that uses ultra sonic waves. How much longer until we can hop into a sonic shower and pretend we have to report to the Enterprise bridge, as soon as we’ve grabbed breakfast from a food slot?

The mirror that doubles as a computer display is an intriguing concept. As long as it’s one way viewing. Google Glass’ mobility brings up enough privacy issues. I wouldn’t want to broadcast toothbrushing or just how bad a bad hair day can really be first thing in the morning!

The flying car seems on the brink of causing traffic jams in the sky. I don’t know which worries me more. The prospect of having to learn how to fly one or the knowledge that way too many people currently behind the wheel have yet to master the elusive art of ground travel. People are reckless and roadragey as it is. Flight lane rage doesn’t bear thinking about.

A fridge that can offer me recipes, based on its contents? No, thanks. I’ll reconsider when it can offer me the hot meal of my choice and spit it out of a slot next to the ice water dispenser. Bonus points, if it can make coq au vin and chocolate mousse cake, with raspberry sauce. Hold the seeds.

The pinball brain thing? That comes from all the glimmers of science fiction ideas such articles give me. There are so many new and exciting things afoot in the modder than current con world of invention and awe. It’s exciting for everyone looking for a better tomorrow today, and extra exciting for science fiction fans who have been waiting for the real world to catch up with our expectations ever since Jules Verne’s imagination taught us to believe the impossible just might be possible after all.

Someday.

Someday is now, for a lot of the things we’ve longed for. Jetsons envy may soon fade into the past. Personally, I’m hoping for a Rosie the Robot maid. After all, someone has to remind me where I put my invisible when off TV.

