Futurama has been, for me, one of those weird things that happens sometimes. I wasn’t crazy about it at first. Stranger yet, I did not like Bender. At all. I thought he was a little too bizarre and I didn’t like his voice. Well, now the announcement that it’s been canceled–again–is sinking in and I am not happy. Not happy at all. It didn’t take long for it to become a must see…and Bender my favorite sometimes rusty curmudgeon.

So here are some of the things I love most about it and why I’m gearing up to start to miss it while it’s still here.

1. The aforementioned sometimes rusty curmudgeon, with a well hidden heart of gold. Why, don’t you know? Bender Bending Rodriguez is fill-in-the-number % any metal that leads to a wellworn punchline. His heart may actually be gold…nah, he’d have hocked it by now. Besides…robots don’t have hearts. Or do they?

2. All things Nibbler. From the moment he ate the entire contents of the would be Ark in the guise of Planet Express Ship, then burped somewhat apologetically, he was one of my Futurama things to look forward to. Cuddly, adorable, poops space ship fuel…what’s not to love? His big eventual reveal as a highly intelligent space commander was as exciting as finding out who would end up as keeper of the Island on Lost. Too bad there wasn’t a crossover. I can just see Hurley careening through the rain forest on Scooty Puff Sr..

3. Zoidberg. The sad sack crustacean medic, with the iffy credentials, relative of Harold Zoid, forgotten silent moviestar. One of the best parody eps they did was when Zoidberg’s intended took a shine to Fry and they engaged in a sight gag riddled fight to the death a la Original Star Trek’s classic Amok Time. Zoidberg is so altogether ookie he could fit right in between Uncle Fester and Cousin It at an Adams Family dinner, but he can still make you want to give him a hug. As long as you don’t startle him. Ink is so hard to get out of clothes.

4. All those in jokes on pop culture. My favorites: The actual Star Trek episode, with all the original characters including most of the real actor’s voices, and the addition of…”Welshie!” Plus the robot asylum, with Nurse Ratchett in charge, and robot Mad Hatter screaming “Change places!” constantly and making poor, misdiagnosed not a robot Fry spill his oil-for-lunch. Priceless!

5. They took on serious social issues sometimes too. Things like prejudice against cyclops Leela and her sewer dwelling parents, and greedy land development when Amy’s dad wanted to decimate a planet for a golf course.

6. My singlemost favorite thing about Futurama has been the clever oneliners. Like the old lady land lady “You young whatchacallit…idiot!”. Fry’s adamant “Oh, no, I won’t’nt!”. Even the Professor’s befuddled “Wha–?” makes me smile. And the brain twisters that can make me laugh long after I first hear them. The best one ever was the game title “World of World War II 3”.

7. Tinny Tim, the robot street urchin straight out of a Dickens Christmas…if Dickens had envisioned a robot London. Complete with crutch and pitiful, starving sigh.

7. The very concept of Robot Santa just slays me. Pun intended. A jolly old metal elf run amuck, weapons blazing…with a missle launcher that fires toys in projectile form at terrified children. Hmm. Wonder if Tinny Tim’s leg injury was from a well aimed bicycle launch.

8. Calculon and All My Circuits.

9. The Robot Mafia. Clamps!

10. Kiff and Amy.

And much, much more.

I hope they do a proper series finale, if it’s really canceled this time. Will Bender come down with roberculosis for real? Will Zoidy get a life? Can Fry get, and keep, the cyclops of his dreams? Or will they all hold in place, waiting like I will be for it to get uncancelled again?

Will I ever not miss new episodes of Futurama? Oh, no. I won’t’nt!

