Australia has been an interest of mine for a long time. It has a feeling of romance about it, in the exotic far away sense. There’s a timeless quality there. A visitor setting foot on Australian soil takes a small part in the joining of the modern world with the Aboriginal Dreamtime. Teeming cities breathe the same air as the isolated outback…air swirled through history from the aboriginal people to prison colonists to the thriving now.

image

The Sydney Opera House at dusk. The Manly ferry glided me through this moment, with the full moon watching over one of the most iconic architectural feats of modern times. The building itself seems ready to sail away on its own adventures, yet its lot in life is to decorate the harbor of an elegant city and provide impressive acoustics for eager ears.

image

I had long heard of New South Wales’ majestic Blue Mountains and The Three Sisters rock formation nestled among their folds. The photographs I’d seen in books in no way did the sight of it in person justice. This one I took as I stood in rapt admiration pales in comparison as well, but it does capture the moment when I was able to fulfill a personal dream to see the patiently standing sisters for myself.

image

Sunset filtered through trees overlooking the Tasman Sea off Manly in New South Wales. This spot is near where I actually got to hear a kookaburra laughing maniacally, true to its reputation. Along a bush track not far away I saw a tree full of rainbow lorikeets and the aptly named bottle brush flowers growing in the wild.

Everywhere I turned new sights and sounds waited to be discovered. Thrilling, awestriking, so different and intriguing. And that was just in a small area of New South Wales. It would take multiple trips to see everything I’d read about throughout that incredible continent. Will I ever return? I hope so, but for now I dream of Australia still.

