I first noticed A Fine Frenzy (the stage name of singer songwriter Alison Sudol) when I randomly saw the lovely music video for her equally lovely song Almost Lover. A lot of love in that sentence! I’ve been a fan of her sometimes dreamy, sometimes bubbly, always beautiful and/or cool music ever since.

She recently released a new album, Pines, that’s quite a departure from what she’s created before. It tells the story of the life of a pine tree. I wasn’t sure I’d like it as much as her other music. It starts out slow, dreamy, ephemeral even, and stays that way through much of the album. As I listened I kept bracing for disappointment that never came.

It takes a bit of mental adjustment, but wraps its gentle sounds of nature wrapped music around the listener’s brain. It soothes away other thoughts and draws the mind into interest in the pine’s experiences. I care as I would for a character in a book (there actually is a book, as well as a video, also available). That’s quite an accomplishment.

Since I’m very fond of whales it’s no surprise that Dance of the Gray Whales that opens with the sound of whalesong is my favorite track, but I really enjoy the entire story of the pine in songs.

Another favorite is:

The Official Lyric Video for Avalanches from Pines by A Fine Frenzy

