The new fall TV season is getting close enough that it’s time to start up the anticipation machine. In high gear.

While I will admit that some shows are best limited to runs of a few years, others can sail on into infinity and I’ll happily watch.

A few of my favorites–

Fringe–Top of the heap. I went from mildly enjoying it to “can hardly wait for every episode”. Science tends to interest me, so of course Walter’s version of fringe science fascinates me.

It caters hugely to the most curious centers of my brain. The ones involving Observers, the guy who played Moriarty in Sherlock Holmes: Game of Shadows so very creepily, and watching Leonard Nimoy inhabit William Bell, the anti-Spock if ever I saw one.

While on the subject of catering…it’s always a smart idea to refrain from watching and eating at the same time. In the way of walking and chewing gum, it just might make you fall down…on your way to the bathroom to throw up!

John Noble deserves awards for his work on Fringe. Most Endearingly Tragic Not Quite Right In the Head Super Scientist. At the very least. Funny how having part of his brain removed by his best friend made him a better person

And funny how Pacey grew up to be such a charmingly romantic mad genius’ son…and a bit of a chip off the old block. Depending on which version of Peter you consider. But then I lost track of exactly which Peter I was seeing and how many Olivia’s are roaming the multiple universes at any given moment somewhere in the middle of last season.

You know what? I don’t mind a bit.

Once Upon A Time–I fell in love with this one from the commercials.The people in charge know how to create lush visuals, fascinating characters, and storylines that keep me guessing.

The costumes alone deserve their own accolades. Regina looks appropriately evil whether in Storybrook or storybook land. And I still want to raid her closet.

I want to visit Mr. Gold’s shop.

In fact I’d be happy to vacation in either reality. As long as the big bads were all toned down for the duration and the happily ever after potential did a preview show while I was there.

And I remembered that even apples in tart form are not to be approached lightly.

The NCIS twins–I started watching both because favorite actors are among the casts. David McCallum is priceless as Ducky on NCIS, as is Linda Hunt as NCIS:LA’s Hetty. I’m still watching both these excellent series all this time later. ‘Nough said.

Criminal Minds–Another cast related choice. I’ve loved Mandy Patinkin’s work since Yentl. He was amazing on Chicago Hope. And he has a true gift for singing, which I know in detail from having a number of his CDs.

I’m fascinated enough by the series’ criminal psychology storylines to remain a fan even this long since Patinkin’s deep well Gideon departed. The cast remains strong and the storylines remain fresh, which can be a problem with long lived TV dramas. The story they did a while back guest starring Harold and Maude’s Bud Cort was so outstanding that it rebooted the entire series for me.

Keep it fresh, keep it surprising, keep the audience. Criminal Minds knows this mantra well.

I can’t cover TV I’m looking forward to without mentioning Downton Abbey. I love it so much I simply cannot wait for more. Unfortunately, I have no choice since the new season doesn’t start until early next year.

The absence of new series is intentional. I can’t decide what to try. If anything. It seems to have been all but proven by fall seasons past that at least half the new shows I fall in love with get cancelled before I’m finished with them.

Often before I really get started….

