No matter how well I try to prepare myself for getting screenwriting competition announcement emails, I always approach those long lists of names with a bizarre combination of anticipation and dread. Will I be there? What if I’m not? Myriad questions race through my mind, even as I comb the list in search of my name. Sometimes I’d swear I’m actually holding my breath and breathing rapidly…at the same time.

One of the screenplays I entered fell early into alphabetical listing, so I went there first. It wasn’t there. I’m extremely disappointed, but I also know it’s a wonderful story (hey, belief in the work you love is a vital part of persevering in such a competitive field)

that placed well in another competition and reached the top 25% of this year’s Page Awards. It’s done well and will have other chances. So I’m proud of what it’s accomplished, as I comb the list again.

Ah. There’s the second one! I am so happy to be a 2012 Page Awards Quarter-Finalist. Reaching the top 10% of entries amid such fierce competition is incredibly rewarding.

Now, I look forward to July 15th’s announcement of the Semi-Finalists. That’s plenty of time to hone my yoga breathing, as I hope to find my name listed there too.

