For all that I love art glass, in jewelry and decorative objects, and even simple but beautiful beach glass, I had never heard of Roman Glass until I came across it on a shopping network today.  The ring shown was breathtaking, shimmering, opalescent…I thought it was mother of pearl.  Then I saw the words Roman Glass and started really paying attention.  Seems glass from ancient Rome was excavated in the past half century or so, and extremely creative people found ways to use it and pieces of the natural patina from it being buried for so very long to make the unique pieces that instantly set off acquisition fever.  I love the hunt for special things, whether Murano glass, coveted books, music from favorite bands, or movies starring my favorite actors, and now I have the lure of remarkable glass that was made in a bygone time by people who would never dream that long after their empire crumbled (if they ever even imagined it might crumble at all) there would be people who thought what they had made was incredibly special.  I don’t even care if it takes me some time to find just the right piece at a price that makes the bargain hunter in me happy.  The thrill of the hunt is a very major part of the collecting game.  C. S. Lewis opened my eyes to the intriguing notion that finally having something may not be as exciting as the yearning for it.  Wise man, Mr. Lewis.  His book Surprised by Joy was a delight even in its heartbreaking moments, and it still makes my life that tiny bit richer in those small ways that special authors have. The same way a once mundane piece of glass formed in time gone by will eventually become a treasure in the eye of its newest beholder.

